← Oudtshoorn Heritage Walk · Baron van Reede Street
12

Mimosa Lodge

Address
85 Baron van Reede Street
Date
1907
Walk
Baron van Reede Street
Photographs
1
Mimosa Lodge, with the roof-turret that was Bullock’s favourite feature

From the heritage walk's own records for this marker

Designed by Charles Bullock and built for Mr Robert Sladowsky in 1907, Mimosa Lodge is one of the finest examples of Oudtshoorn’s "Ostrich Feather Palaces".

Robert Sladowsky was a Jewish immigrant from Eastern Europe. He made his fortune during the two Ostrich Feather Boom periods which occurred from 1880 to 1914. Starting as a "smous" in the district he soon progressed to owning his own general-dealer shop. By the turn of the century he was able to acquire this well-positioned property adjacent to the Queen Street Synagogue (1888).

Mimosa Lodge has many of the features typical of the late-Victorian/ Edwardian style of architecture. Most of the materials used in the construction were imported from the UK and Europe, much of it ordered from catalogues produced by British manufacturers. The oak barge-boards sport beautiful Art Nouveau elements as do the stained-glass windows. The roof structure is imposing with very ornate trimmings in cast iron. The roof-turret is purely decorative and a favourite feature of the architect, Charles Bullock. The wooden floor of the verandah has its original imported jarra floorboards and is still in excellent condition.

The Sladowsky (now Sladen) descendants have retained their connection with the house. In 2007 they celebrated their Oudtshoorn heritage with a re-union of family members coming from many parts of the world.

Over the years Mimosa Lodge has been owned by only seven families and has always been a cherished home. The present owners acquired the property in 1984 and use it as their "town-house", much as the farmers did in previous times.