Tuishuis
- Address
- 63 Baron van Reede Street
- Also known as
- Previously the Gentlemen’s Country Club
- Date
- 1890’s
- Walk
- Baron van Reede Street
- Photographs
- 2
From the heritage walk's own records for this marker
This attractive sandstone building dates from the 1890’s. It is generally accepted that it was built to accommodate the Gentlemen’s Country Club. This was the meeting place of the local businessmen, town councillors and other prominent members of society – a male only establishment. Matters of the day, the stock-market, legal discussions and lively debates were the order of the day. Activities included billiards, cards and betting on horse-races. Oudtshoorn had two racetracks and horses and races played an important role in society. Meanwhile the ladies entertained their friends at home.
In later years the building accommodated the town’s public library until the early 1970’s. Today it forms part of the complex owned by the ACVV and is used as an old age home.