← Oudtshoorn Heritage Walk
11

Cango Masonic Lodge

Address
Rus Street
Date
1896
Side of the street
Corner site
Photographs
2
The entrance to the Cango Masonic Lodge in Rus Street

From the heritage walk's own records for this marker

In 1879 an enthusiastic group of Masons gathered in the home of Julius Ascher and in 1885 the first Lodge was consecrated and opened in a modest building in Hope Street several blocks from here. Their numbers soon grew and this erf in Rus Street was acquired and construction commenced on 16 May 1896 when the stone was laid. The architect was C J Allan and the builder Messrs Rogers Bros. The Lodge was consecrated on 10 October 1896 by the Mayor of the town, W.Bro. Hicks who was also the first Master of the lodge.

In 1931 the building received a west wing of which the cornerstone was laid by Rt.Wor.Bro. Cranstoun-Day. This handsome sandstone building was one of the last to be completed entirely in local sandstone. The demise of the use of this fine building material was due to depleted quarries, loss of stone masonry skills as well as the availability of cheaper clay bricks.

Many local and prominent businessmen and professionals were members of this august and influential institution. A lesser known fact is that C J Langenhoven, lawyer and famous Afrikaans author, was a member. Today their numbers are greatly reduced but they continue to meet in this gracious building.

The foundation stone of the 1931 west wing
On the markerThe foundation stone of the 1931 west wing